Here’s an excerpt from my first attempt at contemporary women’s fiction. 🙂 The book is titled Full Circle and is the first installment of a series – I’ve already started working on book two. I hope you like it!Full Circle (6)


From Chapter Two

“Why didn’t you tell me that he was divorced?” Corinne demanded of Abbie later that night in her old bedroom as she undressed. “A little heads up would have been nice.”

“What?!” Abbie shouted back incredulously from where she lay sprawled upon Corinne’s bed flipping through a magazine, already in her pajamas. “This from the woman who refuses to even say his name? You get so weird when I even mention him. Tell me exactly how you would have expected me to share that little bit of information with you?”

Corinne tossed her discarded clothes into the empty clothes hamper by her closet and pulled on a pair of light gray sweatpants.

“You’ve managed to tell me everything else about him!” Corinne insisted angrily. “He’s the sheriff now, he’s still living on the ranch, and he comes over for dinner every Sunday . . . but nothing at all about his getting divorced from his wife!”

Abbie closed the magazine and rolled over onto her back to stare at Corinne with amusement and Corinne was transported back to the days of high school as she looked back at her older sister, laying there framed by the frilly white drapes upon Corinne’s canopy bed. Pulling on a faded, once violet colored, University of Washington t-shirt and dropping heavily onto the bed beside her sister, she suddenly felt depressed.

“You should have found a way to tell me, Abbie,” Corinne stated firmly. “You never seem to care about how I feel when it comes to him. You just flit around in your own little world and act as if there’s something wrong with me. This is important.”

“I do not!” Abbie objected and sat up on the bed. “You’ve said repeatedly for the past five years that you were over him so I took your word for it!”

“I am over him! So why didn’t you just tell me about the divorce if you took my word for it?” Corinne demanded again; she felt so confused and highly emotional – she hadn’t expected this at all.

Abbie jumped up from the bed and began walking towards the door.

“Because I didn’t want to get your hopes up, ok?” she answered angrily and opened the bedroom door to storm out.

Corinne sat there astounded for a minute before following Abbie out of the room and down the stairs.

“Well, thanks, a lot,” Corinne huffed as she pursued Abbie through the parlor and dining room to kitchen. “So you didn’t tell me because you thought I would make a fool of myself again.”

“I didn’t say that,” Abbie replied stiffly as she rummaged through the refrigerator for something to eat.

“But that’s what you meant,” Corinne accused and sat down at the kitchen table to glare at Abbie.

“No it isn’t, crazy-woman,” Abbie retorted and bit into a chunk of smoked salmon before putting it onto a plate beside several large spoonful’s of potato salad.

“Then what do you mean by ‘I didn’t want to get your hopes up,’” Corinne asked as tears began to inexplicably well in her eyes.

Abbie sighed deeply with exasperation and explained, “He was really into her, Cori. You only saw a glimpse of it. I’m kind of glad that you weren’t here. It turned my stomach to see the way April treated him and I know it would have only hurt you more to watch him. I personally don’t think he’s ready to move on and I didn’t want to tell you because I didn’t want you to think that I was trying to set you two up or anything; and he’s a Muslim now. He converted to the Islamic religion a few months ago and he doesn’t date. Ever. Believe me, just about every single female on the Res has tried to get him out on a date. I figured you’d get to see him soon enough and that you’d decide for yourself what you wanted to do when you got here.”

Abbie’s eyes were sincere and she had stopped eating to make her point clear. She continued solemnly.

“I’ve never thought that there was something wrong with you, Cori,” Abbie said gently and placed her hand over Corinne’s. “You’re my sister. I’m always going to be on your side. I just didn’t want to see you get hurt again.”

Corinne blinked away the tears and smiled half-heartedly. If Abbie was anything at all, it was brutally honest. Hearing her sister recount how much in love Delsin had been with April hurt, but she needed to know that. And Islam – wow. Apparently losing April had devastated him so much that he’d turned to religion, and knowing that he was likely in the middle of a spiritual journey made her feel as if she were being incredibly selfish for even having this conversation.

“Ok,” she finally responded to Abbie. “I’m sorry.”

Abbie smiled and waved her hand dismissively before replying.

“No apologies necessary,” she said and offered Corinne a spoonful of potato salad but Corinne turned up her nose: she was stuffed from eating all afternoon and evening, but Abbie, the bottomless pit that she was, could apparently still eat all day and all night.

“So he was really upset about the divorce?” Corinne probed and tried to appear casual in asking by centering the vase of yellow sunflowers and white lilies on the tabletop.

Abbie was inhaling her food and didn’t notice.

“Yeah,” she answered belatedly in mid-chew. “It was awful. We kept Leotie for a few days while he stayed with Matty at the beach house after he found out about it: the divorce. He hadn’t even known about the divorce until he was served papers when he was at work at the station. She’s such a witch.”

Corinne bit her lip and thought hard about that. She couldn’t deny that hearing about the divorce had given her a little hope, but at the same time, she’d seen for herself just how in love Delsin and April had been, at least how much in love they had appeared to be. She wouldn’t have stayed away for so long if she hadn’t witnessed it for herself. Now she found herself wanting to understand what had happened between them – as far as Corinne had been able to tell during the times when she had visited, the two of them had been mutually in love with one another, but that must not have been the case if April had filed for divorce; and this was the first that Corinne was hearing about April being a witch.

“Why did she file for divorce?” Corinne asked and this time she got Abbie’s full attention.

Abbie raised a perfectly tweezed eyebrow suspiciously and asked, “And why exactly do you want to know?”

Corinne shrugged indifferently and with her most innocent, wide-eyed expression answered, “Just curious. They both seemed so in love. I’m surprised, that’s all.”

Abbie didn’t buy it but shrugged and answered anyway.

 

For more you can get the book in e-book or paperback format at Amazon here . . . 

 

