Tags

, , , ,

Why Islam? For me, it was the Quran that influenced my conscious decision, but I have come to understand that as only part of the answer to the question. Why Islam? Because Allah (SWT), God, guides whom He wills to the path that is straight, and I have been graced with the opportunity to come into the understanding of how important it is that we human beings submit to the will of Allah (SWT). So from this perspective, I haven’t “chosen” Islam , I have been guided onto Islam, subhanaa’Allah (Glory to Allah).ftwcoverpink2

In my opinion, there aren’t enough books or articles about the vast numbers of people coming into Islam by converting to the religion of their own accord. There is much about ISIS, terrorism, and Islamophobia, but not much about those who are living Islam peacefully, daily, and walking the journey of life – seeking to achieve a closer relationship with the Creator of All.  For this reason, I’ve been working on a book highlighting some of the things that I’ve experienced since my shahadah, the day that I declared that there is no God but Allah and that Muhammad (SAW) is the Messenger of Allah (SWT) for the first time.

It is my intention and hope to offer this writing and publishing opportunity to all converts to Islam, firstly as a way of sharing their experiences with their family members who may not understand why they have chosen Islam, and secondly as a way of informing others about Islam and the spiritual aspects of the religion – the aspects that lead to and that manifest true Peace, true Islam.

Here is an excerpt from the Preface of the book and I hope that you will stay tuned for more about this effort. You can follow our blog for updates and please sign up to our mailing list at http://www.mindworksbooks.com for future information, inshaa’Allah, God-willing. 🙂


From the preface of Finding The Way: My Journey From Christianity To Islam:

What is “The Way”?

Jesus, peace be upon him, said that he is the “Way, the Light and the Life”; and as Muslims, we pray to Allah (SWT), minimally 5 times a day, asking to be guided to the straight way. So what is the way? How do we find it, and how do we know if or when we have? I’m comforted by the fact that millions of people have been, or are currently, struggling with the age-old question: why are we here?

My own grappling has led me along a journey that I am still navigating – a journey that I am most grateful for and one that I’d like to share with others for the sake of helping them along their own paths, Allah-willing. Some of my favorite scripture from the Bible is contained within the New Testament, the Gospel of Matthew, chapter 22 and verses 36-40, and reads:

“Teacher, which is the great commandment in the law?

And he [Jesus] said unto him, “You shall love the LORD your GOD with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind. This is the first and great commandment. And a second is like it, you shall love your neighbor as yourself. On these two commandments depend all the law and the prophets.”

This scripture speaks to me deeply and it is also a simple answer to my questions: why am I here? What am I supposed to be doing every day? How do I accomplish my tasks with success? The answer: By loving and worshiping the LORD my GOD with all of my heart, all of my soul and all of my mind while loving my neighbor as myself – this is one of my touchstone scriptures.

Not only are we expected to worship our Creator, but we are all tied to one another through bloodlines, friendships and working relationships – tied to our neighbor. The Quran says in Surah Al Hujurat 49:13:

O mankind! We have created you out of a male and a female, and We have made you tribes and sub-tribes that you may recognize and do good to) one another. Surely the most honorable of you in the sight of Allah is he who guards against evil the most. Verily Allah is All-Knowing, All-Aware.

When you know someone, you can empathize with her/him, respect her/him, love her/him . . . treat her/him with kindness and compassion. When you know someone, you won’t want to deliberately inflict hurt, or steal from him/her or deceive him/her . . . you’ll have a greater desire to treat them as you would like to be treated.

I’ve started writing this book in an attempt to not only reach out to my own family, but to the human family. I truly believe that the more we know about each other, the easier it will be to create positive and lasting relationships with one another, and inshaa’Allah, God-willing, then we can take more productive steps for creating peace on earth.

Allah, subhanaahu wa ta’aala, Knows best.

