Tags

, , , , ,

download (3)candlesToday is the second day of World Interfaith Harmony Week 2016, an initiative first proposed by H.M. King Abdullah II of Jordan, based on the pioneering work of The Common World Initiative, and adopted by the U.N. in 2010.

Mindworks Publishing will be commemorating the week with Words of Light, a seven day blog event highlighting poetry that expresses elements of interfaith harmony, and through showcasing some of the poetry featured in our interfaith publication, The Muslimah Speaks: Her Voice, Her Spirit. Today’s post is a recent poem that I’ve written upon pondering some of the conflicts and challenges in our world – from Syria to Ferguson, Missouri – and I truly believe that many of these conflicts can be peacefully resolved when we are true to our faiths and when we embrace the concept of interfaith harmony. In the Bible it says that God said, “Let there be light,” and that He saw that the light was good – so let’s show up and shine!


Show up and shine

What’s going on where you are?

Is there peace?

If there is – are you grateful?

Because there’s always something to be grateful for.

Our lives converge with one another even if we can’t see it

So wherever you are: show up and shine

 

Be

Be conscious

Be righteous

Be merciful

Be kind

Be strong

Be resilient

Be a light in dark places

Be vicegerent

 

I am because

Allahu Akbar

God said and I am

Like you

God said to me “Be”

And I am

 

There is peace where I am

And I am grateful

And I’m prayerful for those who are not living in a place of peace

My heart cries and my soul aches for those subjected to the terrors of war

So I say, “Keep the faith”

And trust that God does not lay upon us a burden greater than we have the strength to bear

Trust that even in strife

-Especially in strife

We have to show up and shine

 

Be that which is a safe harbor

Be just in the face of adversity

Be compassionate

Be lawful

Know who you are

And Whose you are

You belong to Allah

And we are more alike than we are different

 

Show up and shine

 

Do onto others as you would have them do onto you

Worship the LORD your GOD

Allahu Akbar

With all of your soul, all of your mind and all of your heart

And love thy neighbor as thyself

 

Inshaa’Allah

 

Copyright © 2016, Janette Grant

