Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

PromoImageAbdurrahman starts reciting quietly until he gets to ayah six, then pronounces it out loud for Ibrahim to hear, “Li-tundhira qawman-ma undhira aba’ uhum fahum ghafilun.”

He repeats it again, and again. Ibrahim closes his eyes, as he listens, then starts to move his lips. Then both are silent for a minute.

“Papa, I think I got it,” says Ibrahim.

“Of course you do,” responds Abdurrahman. “But you have to promise me you’ll go look in your mushaf when we get home. Your mama is not going to be happy if she thinks we cut any corners.”

“Don’t worry Papa, we’re not going to make her worried. Can you tell me what it means now?” asks Ibrahim.

“Don’t quote me on this, but I think it has to do with Prophet Muhemmed Salla Allahu ‘alayhi wa sallam warning people whose fathers didn’t warn them, and who didn’t obey Allah, Subhanahu wa-ta‘ala’s, command, but again, let’s go look it up when we are at home.”

“So, like you?” says Ibrahim.

“What?” responds Abdurrahman.

“Like you, your father wasn’t Muslim,” Ibrahim says.

“No. I take your point, but alhamdulilah my father was a very good man. And that’s what I remember about him. Faith, Ibrahim, is a matter between a person and God. And we must never judge,” Abdurrahman instructs.

“Ok Papa,” says Ibrahim, slowly, trying to soak in what may be the most important lesson of the day. “I’ll try, but you might have to help me…”

Ibrahim stops momentarily and then looks up.

“How about before that you help me get up to the next branch, and then the one after that and then that one up there,” Ibrahim says, pointing. “I want to surprise Ammi and show her we can go all the way to the top,” Ibrahim enthuses.

Copyright © 2015 by Mindworks Publishing

Ya Sin: a hifdh journey in America

